Watch India vs Sri Lanka cricket live online: India wins in style, tops Asia Cup 2016

Watch India vs Sri Lanka cricket live online: India wins in style, tops Asia Cup 2016

Watch India vs Sri Lanka cricket live online: India wins in style, tops Asia Cup 2016

India innings (target: 139 runs from 20 overs)

S Dhawan    c †Chandimal b Kulasekara 1
RG Sharma    c Kapugedera b Kulasekara 15
V Kohli    not out    56
SK Raina    c Kulasekara b Shanaka    25
Yuvraj Singh    c Kulasekara b Perera    35
HH Pandya    b Herath    2
MS Dhoni*†    not out    7
Extras    (w 1)    1
Total    (5 wickets; 19.2 overs; 95 mins)    142    

Update: First six of the inning. Sriwardana hits a massive six over ‘Sir’ Jadeja’s ball. Lanka 73/4 after 12. 4 overs

Pandya scalps his second wicket. Great performance by him. AD Mathews out after scoring 18 runs, Lanka 57/4

Update: Pandya scalps Dilshan’s wicket. It is an important wicket that leaves Lanka struggling at 31/3 after 7 overs

Update: Another shocking dismissal. Jaysurya goes as Bumrah takes his wicket. Lanka in trouble. 15/2

Update: Ashish Nehra’s fairy-tale return continues. Takes Chandimal’s wicket in his first over. Lanka rocked

Update: India wins the toss and asks Lanka to bat

India is all set to take on Sri Lanka in Asia Cup 2016’s seventh game. The country, having won two matches in a row against hosts Bangladesh and arch enemy Pakistan, is all set to come up with another emphatic victory against Sri Lanka.

Nonetheless despite their loss against the hosts, Sri Lanka are not among minnows of the cricket. They may be looking like down and out, nonetheless on any given day they have the capability to beat the best of the best in any format of cricket.

It must be noted here that the way they lost against Bangladesh doesn’t augur well. Nonetheless the pitch in Bangladesh is not as simple to bat as in India or for that matter Sri Lanka. The way teams have struggled to score huge total suggests it more than amply.

dhoni 1Today’s India vs Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2016 match will be test for both the teams. A huge total, without doubt, gives great advantage to any team and whoever scores big total in the first inning will be able to cope up with pressure later. A small total, like the one that Pakistan posted against India, is certainly a sort of total that cannot be defended by best of the best teams.

In the meantime, both the teams are coming into the match after very different performances. India, seven wins from their last eight T20s, are fresh from a high-octane triumph against their greatest rivals. Sri Lanka, having lost six of their last eight T20s, have been comprehensively beaten by a team they used to lord it over. It seems like a distant memory but Sri Lanka did defeat India in a World T20 final, in the team’s last bout at this venue. That will seem more distant still, if Sri Lanka continue to play as they recently have.

Nonetheless Indian batting still seems to dread pace. When it comes to the last match that India played against Pakistan here in Bangladesh, Pakistan’s Mohammad Amir tested Indian top order and at one time seemed to have got the better of the Indian batsmen. Three wickets in first two overs and just a few runs. It was a mindboggling pace attack. Except for Kohli’s brilliant batting, the match might have ended in a different manner.

Meanwhile Sri Lankan team is suffering from many issues. Lasith Malinga appears unlikely to play again, the cellotape holding his body together seemingly giving out. There is still some quality in that bowling attack, with Rangana Herath, Angelo Mathews and Dushmantha Chameera, but maybe their strengths are not being maximised. The thing with Sri Lanka at present is that their batting is so fragile they need their bowlers to dominate. If opposition reaches a par score, they have effectively scored too many for Sri Lanka. India seems to be favorite to win the match. Fans who want to watch the India vs. Sri Lanka cricket match live online can find streaming video of the 2016 Asia Cup by clicking here.

India Squad
MS Dhoni*†, R Ashwin, JJ Bumrah, S Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, RA Jadeja, V Kohli, B Kumar, P Negi, A Nehra, HH Pandya, PA Patel†, AM Rahane, SK Raina, RG Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

Sri Lanka Squad
SL Malinga*, AD Mathews, PVD Chameera, LD Chandimal†, N Dickwella†, TM Dilshan, HMRKB Herath, DSNFG Jayasuriya, CK Kapugedera, KMDN Kulasekara, NLTC Perera, SMSM Senanayake, MD Shanaka, TAM Siriwardana, JDF Vandersay

More in Sports