Watch India vs New Zealand cricket live online: NZ win in style, score, highlights

Watch India vs New Zealand cricket live online: NZ win in style, score, highlights

Watch India vs New Zealand cricket live online: NZ win in style, score, highlights

India innings (target: 127 runs from 20 overs)
RG Sharma st †Ronchi b Santner 5
S Dhawan lbw b McCullum 1
V Kohli c †Ronchi b Sodhi 23
SK Raina c Guptill b Santner 1
Yuvraj Singh c & b McCullum 4
MS Dhoni*† not out 9
HH Pandya lbw b Santner 1
RA Jadeja c & b Sodhi 0
R Ashwin not out 3
Extras (w 1, nb 1) 2
Total (7 wickets; 12 overs) 49 (4.08 runs per over)

New Zealand innings (20 overs maximum)
MJ Guptill lbw b Ashwin 6
KS Williamson* st †Dhoni b Raina 8
Munro c Pandya b Nehra 7
CJ Anderson b Bumrah 34
LRPL Taylor run out (Raina) 10
MJ Santner c †Dhoni b Jadeja 18
GD Elliott run out (Dhawan/Nehra) 9
L Ronchi† not out 21
NL McCullum not out 0

Extras (b 4, lb 3, w 6) 13
Total (7 wickets; 20 overs) 126 (6.30 runs

Update: Raina scalps his first wicket on penultimate ball of the first over. Williamson loses wicket. NZ 35 for 3

Update: Indian bowlers keeping New Zealanders in check. Not allowing them to play the free style cricket that they are used to

Update: Nehra again delights Indian fans, takes Munro in his first over. NZ 13/2

Update: Ist wicket falls on the second ball of the match. Ashwin takes Guptil, NZ 6/1

Two top of the line teams in the shortest format of the game are going to face each other in the first most important match of the T20 World Cup. Both India and New Zealand are in great form and are expected to do well in the tournament.

While the Indian cricket team is fresh from its exceptional performance in Asia Cup 2016, played very recently in Bangladesh, New Zealand has emerged as the best team in the short and shortest versions of the game.

Indian batting line up is among the best right now and the fact that they are playing in their own backyard means that they know the pitches very well. Indian pitches are always suited to batsmen. Indian top and middle order will destroy even the best of the best bowling attack.

dhoni 1The New Zealand cricket was taken to its pinnacle by Brendon McCullum. Now as he has hung his gloves there are question marks all around. Sachin Tendulkar says his exit will impact his side. “New Zealand are a very good side but without Brendon McCullum’s leadership and his batting skills they are not the same aggressive side. It’s somewhere going to hurt them. In a critical game it might hurt them” says the maestro.

He was a father figure for his side. Under McCullum, New Zealand were known for their aggressive cricket. The Black Caps lit up the 2015 World Cup campaign with never-seen-before tactics on the field. McCullum led New Zealand to their first ever World Cup final. McCullum retired last month after the two-match Test series against Australia at home passing the baton to star batsman Kane Williamson.

It is the first Super 10 match of the tournament. India has massive advantage. Very few from New Zealand’s squad have played T20 cricket in Indian conditions. Thirteen of them have played less than 15 games in the country, and the man with the most experience – Ross Taylor, with 46 matches – is coming back after injury.

Everyone is sure that the team India is the favorite to win the title. The team has repeatedly said that it is on “auto-pilot” in the shortest format thanks to the exposure from the IPL. Their top order is perhaps the strongest in the tournament and you would think with Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni and Hardik Pandya lower down, there is enough of a failsafe should things go wrong. It has worked so far. India have won 10 out of 11 T20I matches since the start of the year. Fans who want to watch the India vs. South Africa cricket match live online can click here for streaming video through Star Sports.

India Squad

MS Dhoni*†, R Ashwin, JJ Bumrah, S Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, RA Jadeja, V Kohli, Mohammed Shami, P Negi, A Nehra, HH Pandya, AM Rahane, SK Raina, RG Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

New Zealand Squad
KS Williamson*, CJ Anderson, TA Boult, GD Elliott, MJ Guptill, MJ McClenaghan, NL McCullum, AF Milne, C Munro, HM Nicholls, L Ronchi†, MJ Santner, IS Sodhi, TG Southee, LRPL Taylor

More in Sports