Virbhadra Singh gets steel, Commerce & Industry for Anand

Virbhadra Singh gets steel, Commerce & Industry for Anand


New Delhi: The UPA Government has its 79 Council of Ministers.

Former Chief Minister Himachal Pradesh Mr Virbhadra Singh is the new Minister of Steel. The Ministry for Commerce and Industry has gone to Mr Anand Sharma who earlier was Minister of State for IB and External Affairs. For the first time two state party leaders from Himachal were inducted into the Union cabinet on Thursday.


The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting has been allocated to Ms Ambika Soni, while Mr Kapil Sibal is the new Minister for Human Resource Development. Mr Murli Deora retains the Petroleum and Natural Gas portfolio as was widely expected, while Mr S. Jaipal Reddy will continue as Minister of Urban Development.

Mr Vilasrao Deshmukh is Minister of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises; Mr Sushil Kumar Shinde retains the power portfolio and Dr Farooq Abdullah of the National Conference has been given the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy.may-29a

Contrary to speculation Mr Kamal Nath, who was former Commerce Minister, has bagged the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. In line with expectations, DMK’s Mr Dayanidhi Maran is the new Minister of Textiles; Mr M.K. Azhagiri has clinched Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers, while Mr A. Raja continues to hold the Communications and Information Technology portfolio.

The Ministry of Shipping (bifurcated from Ministry of Surface Transport) has gone to Mr G.K. Vasan; Civil Aviation is being retained by Mr Praful Patel who continues to be Minister of State with Independent Charge. Mr Veerappa Moilly, who set up the National Law School, is Minister for Law and Justice. Mr Prithvi Raj Chavan, who was Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office in the last UPA Government has retained the portfolio, and will also handle Ministry of Earth, Science and Technology, Personnel, Public Grievances, Pensions as well as Parliamentary Affairs.

Mr Jyotiraditya Scindia is Minister of State Commerce and Industry; Mr Jitin Prasad is Minister of State of Petroleum and Natural Gas; Mr Sachin Pilot is Minister of State in the Ministry of Communications and IT; Mr Pradeep Jain is Minister of State, Rural Development. Ms Agatha Sangma, the youngest Minister, 50 years younger than the oldest in the Cabinet, is Minister of State, Rural Development.

More in Elections

  • MU placed in Times Higher Education Asia Universities Ranking 2014

    ALIGARH: The Aligarh Muslim University has secured third position among Indian universities in the Asia Universities Ranking 2014 published by the Times Higher Education (THE), London, UK. The Punjab University, Chandigarh has topped the ranking among Indian institutions of higher learning.   The Times Higher Education Asia University Rankings 2014, powered by...

  • Girl tops Class X examination at AMU

    ALIGAR: Anshu Chaudhary secured first position with 91.80% marks in the Secondary School Certificate (Class X) Examination-2014 of the Aligarh Muslim University. The result of Secondary School Certificate Examination was declared today by the Controller of Examination. Uttam Bhardwaj consolidated 2nd position for him with 90.40% marks while Syed Faraz Ali and...

  • MIT students raise $500000 in Bitcoin, get official backing

    MIT students raise $500000 in Bitcoin, gets official backing   Two students at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) are grabbing headlines for their innovative job in raising huge amount for the sole purpose of education.   Had they done this for themselves the media would have not covered them. What they...

  • Reservations the only way for Muslim uplift, say leaders

    JAIPUR (NVONEWS): If the Government wants to bring Muslims at par with other communities of India, then reservation is the most effective way. That was the message from the Muslim Reservation Conference in Vidyadhar stadium here. The speakers at the conference agreed that reservation should be provided in every field for the...

  • Baldeav Tomar elected Sirmour BJP President

    Nahan: After a long hectic activities BJP has appointed Baldeav Tomar (39), who also hold the post of state vice president of Kissan Morcha as the new district president. Although the name of the Tomar was decided for the coveted post of the party but the formal election was to be conducted....

  • Sirmour BJP President Election on 5th January

    Nahan: After the month long activities for the organizational polls the BJP has been reached in the final stage to elect the new district president of the party. Divided in two camps in the district BJP would elect the new president of the party on 5th January at Paonta Sahib. BJP has...

  • Results declared: Winners in Maharashtra, Arunachal & Haryana

    New Delhi: Congress will form governments in Maharashtra and Arunachal, but no clear verdict in Haryana. The Maharastra Congress, along with its ally NCP, was poised to retain power in the 288-member Maharashtra assembly. Of the 269 results declared so far, the ruling combine has bagged 131, the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance 87,...

  • ABVP leads in Sirmour SCA polls

    Nahan: The student front ABVP has took the lead on other student front SFI and NSUI in...