Lalu Prasad Yadav says he halted BJP’s Rath of Intolerance twice

Lalu Prasad Yadav says he halted BJP’s Rath of Intolerance twice

Lalu Prasad Yadav says he halted BJP’s Rath of Intolerance twice

Former Union minister for railways and former Bihar chief minister Lalu Prasad Yadav has said that despite huge pressure on him he hasn’t changed ideologically. He said that he has stopped BJP’s march twice.

He also went on to add that BJP remains the same old communal party that it was in nineties, its policies have remained the same and only faces have changed.

There is no denying the fact that while many secular leaders including Mulayam Singh Yadav, Sharad Yadav, Nitish Kumar and many others have allied with the saffron outfit in the past, Lalu Prasad has never made any alliance with the BJP. During the Bihar assembly election it was he who formulated policies to counter the BJP and exploited the anti-reservation remark of the RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat to the hilt.

lalu prasad yadavDuring the ongoing discussion on intolerance RJD chief Lalu Prasad today said he has halted the Bharatiya Janata Party’s rath (chariot) of “intolerance” twice in Bihar, first in 1990 and the second time in 2015.

The RJD boss whose outfit has emerged the biggest winner in Bihar elections 2015 said, “Humne asahishnuta ke rath ko Bihar mein do baar roka hai (I have halted the chariot of intolerance twice in Bihar),” Mr Prasad said in a tweet while referring to the arrest of senior BJP leader LK Advani in 1990 and the party’s drubbing in 2015 Bihar assembly elections.

He went on to add, “The BJP’s character has not changed; only its leaders have changed”. The former Bihar chief minister said Mr Narendra Modi was a campaign manager of the BJP’s rath yatra led by Mr Advani in 1990 and was now its face and leader. “Only Modi’s post and stature in the party has changed,” he said.

He emphasized that his secular credentials are as strong as they were some twenty years ago. “But my ideological stand has not changed; what I used to stand for in the past, I am committed to that now as well,” the RJD leader said. The Grand Alliance of Janata Dal-United, RJD and the Congress won 178 of the 243 assembly seats in Bihar while the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance mustered only 58 seats.

More in Latest