California minimum wage to be increased to $15 an hour from existing $10
SACRAMENTO: It is going to be a sort of windfall for many people in California. California legislators are set to clear a bill that will make it mandatory for employers to pay their employees $15 per hour compared to the existing $10 per hour.
For the last several months labor unions have been demanding the minimum pay per hour to be increased to $15. It seems that it may finally become a reality in the days to come.
Reports suggest that labor unions and legislators have finally reached an agreement that will ensure that the workers’ minimum wages are hiked from $10 to $15 an hour in the state.
If it is really implemented as is being assured by legislators and officials, it would make for the largest statewide minimum in the nation by far. If the Legislature approves a minimum-wage package, it would avoid taking the issue to the ballot. One union-backed initiative has already qualified for the ballot, and a second, competing measure is also trying to qualify.
While talking about the latest development Sen. Mark Leno, D-San Francisco says, “This is not a done deal…Everyone’s been operating in good faith and we hope to get it through the Legislature.”
Leno goes on to add, “This is an issue I’ve been working on for many years…The governor and stakeholders have all been negotiating earnestly and in good faith for some time.”
In the meantime while talking about the details, a report in the Los Angeles Times the wage would rise to $10.50 in 2017, to $11 an hour in 2018, and one dollar per year to take it to $15 by 2022. Businesses with fewer than 25 employees would have an extra year to comply. The minimum wage hike will further make California the most desired state for workers in the entry level.