Belmont Stakes 2015: American Pharoah wins Triple Crown after 37 years

Belmont Stakes 2015: American Pharoah wins Triple Crown after 37 years

Belmont Stakes 2015: American Pharoah wins Triple Crown after 37 years

Not many thought that this was going to be a possibility tonight. Triple Crown has eluded the game of horse racing for the last 37 years. The last time it was won before the 147th Belmont Stakes was in the year 1978 and there were ‘far better’ horses than American Pharoah to win the Belmont Stakes 2015.

Nonetheless, when it came to the racing, the champion proved its critics wrong by galloping and galloping and leaving behind all the competitors to win a race that has made its owner richer by several million dollars.

As the race began, the three year old horse took the lead and never allowed others to take the game away from it since then. The horse was able to cover the 1 1/2 mile distance in just 2:26.65, besting the field by 5 1/2 race

A beaming jockey Victor Espinoza after the win said, “Steady, steady, all the way around…I had the best feeling after when I took the first turn…You don’t even feel it when he’s going that fast, it feels like slow motion.”

The last to win the Triple Crown was Affirmed who had won the title in the year 1978. There is no denying the fact that the Belmont Stakes, known as the “Test of the Champion,” is the longest of the three races in the Triple Crown — the Kentucky Derby track is 1 1/4 mile and the Preakness track is 1 3/16 mile.

The celebrated horse trainer, the 62-year old Bob Baffert said following the win said, “I didn’t know how I was going to feel; now I know…I feel like I have a very special horse and he’s the one that won. It wasn’t me, it was the horse”.

bob baffert, belmont stakes results, belmont stakes 2015, american pharoah, triple crown, triple crown winners, belmont, belmont stakes post time, belmont post time, secretariat, belmont stakes odds, what time is the belmont stakes, belmont stakes time, last triple crown winner, post time belmont stakes 2015, horse race, american pharoah owner, what time is the belmont, belmont post time 2015, what time does the belmont stakes start, belmont race time, 2015 belmont stakes, belmont race, american pharoah triple crown, pharoah, the belmont stakes, where is belmont race track, who won the belmont stakes, triple crown 2015

More in Sports