5 reasons why Congress will perform exceptionally well in Delhi?


By Abul Hasan for NVONews

The seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi have a history of backing the Congress party or the BJP in election after election. While the electorates in Delhi have chosen between the two national parties, regional or Third Front parties have rarely found favour with the voters in the National Capital Territory.

There are many people who claim that the Congress party has erred in not aligning with Arwind Kejriwal led Aam Aadmi Party. But this seems a shrewd move on the part of the grand old party that knows that only national parties find favor with the electorates of Delhi.

Delhi voters favor national parties in LS elections
Delhi voters back only national parties in Lok Sabha elections. A quick look at statistics will make it abundantly clear that the real fight in Delhi will take place between only the Congress party and the BJP while AAP will remain a mere spectator.

In the Lok Sabha election held in the year 1999 when the BJP government came to power at the Center under the premiership of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, all the seven parliamentary seats were won by the saffron party while the Congress party drew a blank. Sahib Singh Verma, Vijay Goel, Madan Lal Khurana, Lal Bihari Tiwari, Jagmohan, Anita Arya and Vijay Kumar Malhotra won from different constituencies of the National Capital Territory.

In the next Lok Sabha elections in 2004 when the Congress unexpectedly won the election despite the BJP’s India Shining Campaign, all the seats except one were won by the Congress party. BJP’s Vijay Kumar Malhotra was the only one who could win a seat for the BJP from Delhi. The rest of seats were won by the Congress war horses including Sajjan Kumar, Kapil Sibbal, Jagdish Tytler, Krishna Tirath and young turks including Sandeep Dikshit and Ajay Maken.

If the elections in 2004 were like a bad dream for the saffron party, the next election in 2009 proved disastrous for it. The BJP lost even the lone seat that it had won in the previous general election and Congress won all the seven seats with huge margins. Mahabal Mishra, Kapil Sibal, Jai Parkash Aggarwal, Sandeep Dikshit, Ajay Maken, Krishna Tirath and Ramesh Kumar won all the seven parliamentary seats for the Congress in Delhi.

AAP will not side with the Congress in Lok Sabha
The people in Delhi know that the Aam Aadmi Party is not suited to play any meaningful role at the national level. They have seen how AAP backstabbed the Congress party despite the grand old party backing an Aam Aadmi Party government in Delhi. AAP convener and the then chief minister Arwind Kejrival resigned from his post as the chief minister and didn’t even inform the Congress party as to what he was going to do. The electorates in Delhi have also seen how he has never supported a united opposition in the Parliament over the last five years. The party’s MPs have remained mute spectators in the Parliament while opposition drawing a united strategy against the BJP and the RSS.

A vote for AAP will be a vote for the BJP
Whether it is the issue of the law on triple talaq or anything else, Arwind Kejriwal led AAP hasn’t sided with the opposition strategy of countering the BJP onslaught. It has squandered all the opportunities to corner Narendra Modi government on such important issues.

Jama masjid, Delhi, Photo courtesy: Indian Express
Jama masjid, Delhi, Photo courtesy: Indian Express

AAP kept mum on mob lynching incidents
As the cow vigilantes created havoc across the country, especially in the Hindi heartland, the Aam Aadmi Party never took up the issue, rarely spoke on the increasing marginalization of Indian Muslims in the Indian society and the mob lynching incidents taking place from Rajasthan, to Madhya Pradesh and Jharkhand to Delhi. He kept studied silence while Muslims and Dalits were being targeted with impunity by the goons financed by different Sangh organizations and protected by many state governments. While human rights organizations were agitating on dozens of mob lynching incidents, AAP and its leadership kept studied silence, without speaking a word on such heinous crimes.

AAP was never really serious about alliance
All India Congress Committee Delhi in-charge PC Chacko said, “The deal was to have an alliance in Delhi and we agreed on three seats for us and four for them despite being a national party,” he said. The Congress has fielded heavyweights such three-time chief minister Sheila Dikshit (North East), former two-time MP Ajay Maken (New Delhi), and professional boxer Vijender Singh (South), the AAP has reposed its faith in fresh faces on all the seven parliamentary seats in the national Capital, Atishi (East), Raghav Chadha (South) and Dilip Pandey (North East). Experts are of the opinion that AAP was never serious about forging an alliance with the Congress and so it kept changing its demands. Congress president Rahul Gandhi, after a frustrating round of negotiations with the AAP said, “An alliance between the Congress & AAP in Delhi would mean the rout of the BJP. The Congress is willing to give up 4 Delhi seats to the AAP to ensure this. But, Mr Kejriwal has done yet another U-turn! Our doors are still open, but the clock is running out”.

As the nation’s mood is clearly against the BJP, there is no denying that people in Delhi are going to vote for the Congress party in the city like electorates elsewhere. Lok Sabha election 2019 in Delhi are scheduled to be held on May 12.